silvercloudlinings

Looking for the things in life that make us happy

Childhood Memories

on 04/09/2014

Yaaay!!! I finished my book and sent it off to the Publisher (1 only edition). I’ve named it ‘Growing up’ – memories of my life from childhood through to marriage. It has been an interesting and enlightening journey – checking some details with my siblings and searching for as many photos as possible of which there aren’t all that many.

I’ve realised that my memories are often vastly different to other members of my family and given the difference in our ages, it really not surprising. It has been a journey which has brought my siblings and me closer together by sharing each others memories of certain events. As I am in the middle of a family of 6 children I am fortunate to have been able to extract details of my parents’ earlier lives from my eldest brother and older sister, as well as details from my younger brothers.

About 20 or more years ago, a close member of my family encouraged me to begin writing about my life and after a while I began to do this. It was in a chronological manner with much detail but unfortunately in those days I didn’t have any idea of external drives or even saving data onto floppy discs (that tells you how long ago that was). Inevitably, my computer crashed and all of that information could not be retrieved unless I was prepared to pay someone several thousand dollars to attempt retrieval of that document and there was no guarantee of success.

So; that idea was put into a box at the back of my mind along with the memory of the encouragement from the member of my family who sadly is no longer with us. I’m sure she would be pleased if she knew about my book…but perhaps she does.

The seeds of writing about my earlier life began to germinate in my mind and so I began to write my story but in a different way this time. I suppose you might say it’s in the concept of short stories. I don’t know who will want to read it but it’s there for my family and anyone else if and when they might wish to read about my early days.

 

Hey ! What have you got to say?

